installing ceramic tile over old plywood subfloor

Old 07-26-08, 06:27 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
installing ceramic tile over old plywood subfloor

I am putting down ceramic tile on a bathroom floor. I stripped the bathroom of toilet and sink (no tub ) room is completely empty. I stripped the old tile from the plywood floor and removed the old adhesive. The plywood subfloor is 5/8 and has a seam in it. The old tile 12X12 one inch pieces on a mesh. This old tile grout was cracked along the seam in the plywood subfloor. The bathroom is small 25 sq. ft. The plywood floor does have a few gouges in the surface from pulling up the old tile. I am very new to laying tile a beginner to say the least. The question should I try to patch the gouges and the seam or install backer board? If I install backer board 1/4 " my floor level will be 1/4 " higher then before raising the toilet by 1/4" . Will this effect the proper mounting of the toilet and cause it to leak? If I were to fill in the hole and seam of the subfloor then lay the tile (ceramic) the floor would be at the same height as before and there should be no problem. Please advise Thank you Torque1

Old 07-26-08, 07:36 PM
J
As you now know, your old floor was not installed correctly. You should NOT install tile direct to a subfloor. That goes for any tile. You can install 1/4" backer board on fresh thinset mortar over your 5/8" ply subfloor, but be aware that 5/8" is bare bones minimum. Check back with us when you've determined what specific materials you've chosen.

Raising the floor 1/4" will be easy to work with when re installing the toilet. At what level will the new floor be in relations to the top of the toilet flange?

Jaz

Old 07-27-08, 05:38 AM
H
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts