silicone grout sealer ?

Old 09-07-09, 08:09 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
silicone grout sealer ?

i did some searching on the net. seems searching here is not working.

i have a many years old full bottle of TILE GUARD SILICONE GROUT SEALER. water based. i have unsanded grout on my new polished travertine shower floor (many small pieces). can i use this sealer with good results ?

thanx

Sponsored Links
Old 09-08-09, 04:51 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Heard the fumes from this stuff can get people pretty sick. I have no experience with it. I usually always use a DuPont StoneTech product or Impregnator 511. I would ditch that stuff and get some new.

Old 09-08-09, 06:46 PM
thanx, Mark. kinda figured that. where can i get your stuff ?

btw. you should see my HT now. lots of nice gear. and i am researching a projector now.

Old 09-09-09, 03:28 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
You can get the 511 Impregnator at Home Depot. It's about $30+ for a little jug. You can get DuPonts StoneTech from a Dal Tile store or tile distributor in your area.

I was once looking into a projector but decided to go LCD. I didn't want to have anything else hanging from the ceiling.

Old 09-13-09, 08:44 AM
kinda expensive, but if you say its good. i'm in.
how long does this stuff last in a shower ? 2 showers a day.
oh, i have a little granite in the shower, as well.

i have a mitsu 65" dlp now. other than some graininess, the picture is great. but, its just not big enough for scope movies.
for me, if the pj looks good, i think it will look hanging from my ceiling. and the newer models are said to have great pictures. even the entry level units.

Old 09-13-09, 08:50 AM
oh-yeah

my unsanded grout has been drying for over a week. other than a "little" touch up i did yesterday. is that enough wait ? and after the 511 aplication, how long to wait to use the shower ?

thanx.

Old 09-14-09, 08:29 PM