POLL: Wet tile walked on after 5 - 6 hours

Old 10-14-09, 11:10 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question POLL: Wet tile walked on after 5 - 6 hours

Someone carefully stepped dead center on about 2 or 3 tiles to reach an area on the counter in the kitchen. She stepped slowly and balance was to dead center on each tile. It was only 5 - 6 hours wet and a/c has been running all day/night.

POLL: DO YOU THINK THESE TILES WILL FAIL/CRACK/SLIDE AS A RESULT OF WALKING ON THEM IN THIS MANNER, THIS EARLY WHILE STILL WET?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-09, 05:12 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 167 Votes on 148 Posts
I'm not a tile expert [and they should be along later] but I've painted a lot of new construction and that is the accepted way to walk on fresh tile - sometimes it can't be avoided. I would think it would be alright.

Old 10-15-09, 03:22 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
but I've painted a lot of new construction and that is the accepted way to walk on fresh tile
I'm sure the tile setters would love to hear that Mark. Not sure if there's a accepted way to walk on wet tile......tile should not see traffic until the next day. Numerous times tile contractors have to go back to the site and correct tiles that now had lippage due to people walking on it while it was wet. That's like saying it's acceptable for carpet layers to lay carpet when you just painted the walls.

Old 10-15-09, 08:09 PM
Another reason why I don't do builder work. Too many painters who don't give a crap.

Jaz

Old 10-16-09, 04:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 167 Votes on 148 Posts
Hey, I always tried to respect everyone else's work! not that I got the same in return