Encapsulate Asbestos Tile + Re-level and install ceramic tile

Old 07-10-10, 09:17 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Encapsulate Asbestos Tile + Re-level and install ceramic tile

To start off, I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to this stuff. I've read the forum rules, and will try to detail my problem extensively, but if I fail anywhere, be nice please and I'll fix the issue!

Here's the background:

We recently bought a slab foundation home, and began doing some remodeling. Upon doing this, we found a problem in our laundry room: The floor is not pitched properly to allow water drainage. Instead of being pitched towards the drain, it's going towards the wall.

This is where the nightmare comes into play. Throughout the entire house, there is asbestos vinyl tile that is attached to cement (If you image.google.com search "asbestos tile", ours looks identical to the first image except instead of green, it's black). In our family room, where we plan on putting some ceramic tile and some snap together laminate flooring, this tile is exposed (ie: not encapsulated with carpet). In the laundry room, there are multiple layers of vinyl on top of the asbestos tile. That asbestos tile is adhered to the cement also.

Our nightmare is in trying to get the truth out of contractors on what can be done, what should be done, and how to go about getting it done.

The long short questions:

Can you encapsulate vinyl asbestos tile that is adhered to cement by putting 3/4th of an inch of cement on top of it (with something to adhere the cement to the asbestos)? If so, will this be:

1) Safe?
2) Durable / Long lasting?
3) Practical?
4) Effective for leveling / pitching the floor?