laying tile over carpet?

Old 08-01-10, 03:04 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
laying tile over carpet?

I have a guy coming over on Tuesday to tile a room in our house that currently has carpet tiles for floor covering. He says he going to put cement board over the carpet, fixing it to the ground the some special cement screws. Then, mortar over the cement board, and then tile.

This sounds fishy to me. I've never heard of tiling over carpeting.

By the way, he quoted us $1,400 + materials for 200-sq. ft. I'm I getting ripped off?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-01-10, 03:14 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
No no and double no! I'm no tile expert...but thats just wrong in so many ways I can't count.

What is the base material under the carpet? What is the beam/joist spacing and size if any? What kind of tiles will you be putting down...different types require different support. Cenent board gives no support..it just provides a good surface to bond tile to.

Old 08-01-10, 03:21 PM
Under the carpeting is (I think) plywood or O.S.B. subflooring. Unsure of the joist spacing or size. We're putting down some 20" porcelain we got on a closeout.

Don't ask me why the previous owners put carpet tiles in their dining room, but it sure is hideous and must go.

This is hopefully going to look great when it's done. Wainscoting is beautiful. French doors. Very elegant. I just hope I don't get screwed on this installation!

Should I ask this guy for an explanation?

(EDIT: I've just been told joist are 2x10 whatever that means.)

Old 08-01-10, 03:44 PM
Super Moderator
Don't ask him for an explanation...just ask him to not do the work. At least not if he insists it's ok to do. No Pro would ever install tile over carpet and cement board.