How to properly layout tile floor?

Old 09-01-11, 07:55 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to properly layout tile floor?

All,

I'm looking for some insight on the best way to layout my tile flooring project. Here is a rough (not to scale) drawing of my project area:

Everything I've been reading / watching online seems to deal with a regular square room. Find centerpoint of each wall, draw chalk lines, start in the middle. What would be your recommendation of how to lay this out? My thought is to basically use 3 primary lines as my guide (entryway->hallway, length of hallway, & hallway->laundry room) and begin tiling in the entryway. I guess what I'm concerned about is if the walls aren't square throughout (I'm sure they aren't), how do I make corrections without everything looking out of whack? Would it be better to start in the long hallway since that is basically the "bridge point" between the 2 main open spaces?

Any thoughts are welcome as this is my first time laying tile...

Sponsored Links
Old 09-01-11, 08:35 AM
Group Moderator
Received 46 Votes on 43 Posts
I like to do a dry layout first to gauge how everything looks - it's a whole lot easier to tweak the design that way. Once you have a layout you like, then snap some chalk lines and break out the thinset.

Old 09-21-11, 01:41 PM
I usually try to center the main doorway and in this case I would also definitely center the hallway

Old 09-21-11, 02:45 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
As long as you are resigned to the fact there has never been a square room built in the history of man, you will be fine. Is there a logistical reason for tiling the hallway? Not to change your thrust, but you could tile the rooms on either end, settle on a good center line in each section, and lay engineered or hardwood flooring in the hallway to break it up a bit. Tiling your horseshoe will make you bald in a week

Old 09-21-11, 06:58 PM