Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Flooring, Floor Coverings and Coatings Center > Wall and Flooring Indoor Tiling
Reload this Page >

reverse (from below?) stains on yet be grouted and sealed limestone tile

Old 10-19-12, 07:40 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hope someone can help. I'm a newbie but my handyman and I took a little longer than expected to laydown some limestone 18x18 tile on my covered patio. We have yet to grout, but as we finished and went to clean off some tenacious thinset in the joint lines, I had to water it down significantly to get it off. I ended up having to really hose down the tile. It all seemed ok until it dried and these reverse stains appeared.

Some of the tiles did not get even thinset as evidenced by the lighter spots around the corners. I'm not sure how these stains appeared because there was limited exposure only to water while cleaning. It seems like it got stained from below in areas where thinset is not contacting the tile.

Is there a way to remedy this? Desparate for an idea.

thanks in advance

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 10-20-12, 03:26 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
More of the tile guys will chime in here later, so stay tuned. It appears the stains you are seeing are from dollops of thinset?? How was the thinset laid on the base? Was it troweled on? If these are dollop stains, and not manufacturing drying spacer stains, I would say the install will fail anyway. Fill us in on the method of thinsetting the tiles.

Old 10-20-12, 05:00 AM
W
I've never set limestone tile but I've been researching tile permeability and I've learned that some limestone tile is very porous and susceptible to water absorption and stains. What you are seeing might be thinset moisture permeating through the tile.

I also think that limestone tile requires sealing, but one of the tile guys can probably better answer that. I am curious how the thinset was applied.