Quick question about bathroom tile

Old 12-20-12, 01:48 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Quick question about bathroom tile

Check the pictures out!

Picture a) http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphoto...14328910_n.jpg
On the second floor, I removed an older vanity that was sitting atop of the now exposed spot. It had a lot of broken wood so it had to go. My question is that when I removed the vanity it exposed the floor underneath. There is about two to three inches of difference from the tile, and the wood below.

My solution: Remove the tile up until the grout, use 2x4s and plywood to have it somewhat level, and tile over the entire exposed area with a tile that accents.

Any further suggestions? I'm still new at this.

Picture b) http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphoto...08031788_n.jpg

In the same bathroom the tile goes from the floor, to about shower height (not to the ceiling). As you can see in the picture, the job they performed. This doesnt look entirely right to me? What do you guys think? What should I do?

Thanks! I appreciate all the help. I hope I'm not imposing on everyone else with two threads.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-12, 04:05 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Two to three inches is a lot. Yes, remove the 4 tiles that are not complete, but try and save all below the tile, scraping off the thinset as best you can, even if it means grinding. Then build up the bare subfloor to exact specifications called for to make it level once you thinset and tile again. Yes, use matching tile (from the ones you have stuck back.....Oh, didn't do that, Ok) or accent tile of a different color.

As far as the wall, they didn't use bullnose tile or trim strips (Schluter) to finish the job. I would probably sand down the grout they obviously used to cover their mistake, or remove the caulk if that is what it is, and just do a better job at terminating the appearance of the edge of the tile. Not much else you can do at this point.