Backsplash Tiling Advice Needed

Old 03-06-14, 04:11 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 595 Votes on 549 Posts
Backsplash Tiling Advice Needed

I'm finally getting around to tiling the backsplash in my kitchen and I have no experience working on a vertical surface with small pieces. Since this is a backsplash it's difficult to layout and cut all the pieces like a floor so I'm looking for advice how do you install?

This is the tile I'm using and it comes in the usual 12" square sheets with a mesh backing.

I've spoken with one installer and he recommended using thinset and stick up the big, easy sections and full tiles where possible like you would normally do. Then before the thinset hardens scrape it off in areas where cut pieces will go. Then cut the little pieces and use adhesive caulk on the little bits.

I was wondering if I should try cutting whole sheets, leaving the little pieces attached to the backing, where the sheets would meet the counter and upper cabinets which would save the labor of dealing with lots of little bits. It would speed things but I dont know how well they'd cut.

I have three tile saws. A cheapie with a non moving table with the blade below. A proper tile saw with a fixed table where the cutter is mounted on a moving gantry above. And a heavy duty brick saw with the saw fixed and moving platform below.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-06-14, 05:11 PM
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts