Trying to retile behind a bathtub...(Wall)

Old 06-04-14, 07:53 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trying to retile behind a bathtub...(Wall)

Hi there... This is my first post, so please tell me if I'm missing anything...

So, I had a pretty bad leak behind the wall above the bathtub, so I had to tear out that wall to stop it. When I did that, I noticed there wasn't any sort of vapor barrier installed, and that kinda freaked me out. I figured as long as I'm doing that, I might as well see try to install some tiles correctly and fix up the place a bit. So I'm trying to retile the wall around my bathtub, and install a sliding glass door instead of a shower curtain. I'm a newbie at this sort of thing, but I've done some research, (the best information I've seen so far is from
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/de...my-shower.html) and my brother is here to help sometimes too. But I still have several questions...

1) The wall I cut in to is partly lathing, which I've stripped most of it down to the wood (some of the wood I had to remove because of rot, but I've kept some), and partly concrete backing. Then away from the shower it turns to partly lathing, then partly drywall. My question is, can I cut both the concrete from the lathing (keeping the wood if possible), and the drywall, so that I can just have a clean line of drywall (or concrete backing, more likely)?

2) What is the down side to using concrete backing out of the shower but still in the bathroom? I don't need to put a vapor barrier out there, right? The vapor barrier is only for the bathtub area, right?

3) Should I install the shower doors over the tile? That's what it looks like in all of the pictures, but why? Wouldn't it be a lot cleaner looking if I installed it right on the concrete backing and have the tiles go right up to it? Am I overlooking something here?

Thank you guys so much for you help. :-)

Old 06-04-14, 09:40 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts