Floor Leveler.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-14, 04:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Floor Leveler.

So I poured a bag of floor leveler tonight and looks like it will not be enough. How soon can I pour more on top of it? Should I use primer again as well?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-14, 05:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I manage to find the answer on their web site. I wish they included an indication of more indepth information could be found on their web site.

I'm useing the Tec Skill Set from Lowes. It says a second application can be applied after the first has cured enough to walk on. If more than 6 hours has gone by, the first layer needs to be primed before the second application.
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-14, 06:12 AM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,376
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts
Sorry I missed this last night. Did you prep your floor with lath first so that it gives the leveler something to grab? Yes, primer only lasts so long - prime and pour within a certain time frame, otherwise re-prime. Also, need to prep concrete surface (or previous pour or SLC) with primer prior to each subsequent pour. Thing that gets me is that you need to wait a minimum of 2 hours after primer for it to dry before the pour. Whatever you do, don't pour it too thick! Near impossible to scrape down once cured.

Tec spec sheets say max. 1" thick per pour up to a max. of 1 1/2" overall on multiple.
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-14, 08:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did not prep with lath. I interpreted that as being necessary when going over plywood. I laid hardiboard down first in thinset. I screwed it down and mesh taped the joints before pouring the SLC.

The instructions for what I have at max 1" in a single pour and 2" in two pours.

" TEC Skill Set Self Leveling Underlayment can be applied from a 1/16" (1.6 mm) up to 1" (25 mm) depth in a single application or up to 2" (5 cm) with two applications." Self Leveling Underlayment | Tile Underlayment | TEC Skill Setâ„¢

I'm not more than 1/2" on my first pour. I don't expect to be more than 1/2" on the second either. I also saw on that page that they specify to cover heated cable with a min 1/4" SLC. I wish they had all this info on the bag. It would have been really helpful. And had my wires have been unseen, I would have called it a day.

Any tips on actually getting the SLC level? I know I have to push it around a bit, but how much do I need to do? Seems like the back half of the floor is closer to level than the front half. Maybe I just didn't have enough material.
 
  #5  
Old 12-06-14, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. Poured the second application. It appears to be more level. At least more flat than the first time. The wires and lack of material probably impeded the flow on the first go around. I also found a couple small holes in my dams.
 
  #6  
Old 12-06-14, 12:47 PM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,376
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts
No trick, just finesse. I now remember advising OK to SLC directly over CBU in lieu of wire mesh. Unfortunatley, you've got so many posts open on your remodel, that I sometimes get confused with others. Anyway, With fingers crossed, we hope your heating mat works as planned now that it is buried in an inch plus of SLC.

I learned a while ago, calculate out what you need to get the job done on SLC or skim coat patch and then purchase double that amount. Got tired of running back out for an additional bag.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-14, 01:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The cable is not that deep and I'm sure it would work just fine if it was.

If I did this on a regular basis, I would buy twice as much as well. I also didn't expect to need to be above the cable by a 1/4" until I made the first pour.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: