Tile a free-floating square base on carpet, for fireplace

Old 12-05-14, 06:34 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tile a free-floating square base on carpet, for fireplace

Hey gang,

I'm pulling out an old fireplace (see picture). It's going to leave a gap in the carpet that I want to tile. A new (and much smaller) gas stove will then sit on the tiles.

Name:  fireplace.jpg
Views: 548
Size:  50.2 KB

I've never done tiling before. Any suggestions are appreciated.

My plan is:

1) Build a temporary rectangular wood frame out of 1x1, and screw it to the subfloor. It will go just under the edges of the carpet, framing the work area.

2) Tape / mask off the open edges of the carpet to avoid getting mortar on it

3) Tile the inside of my wood frame: Mortar subfloor, bed & screw down the backerboard; mortar and bed ceramic tiles, using the 1x1 frame as the edge

4) Remove the 1x1 frame, trim carpet so it's flush against edge of tile

Does this sound like a good plan? Do I need to do any tricks to keep the mortar from sticking to my temporary wood frame?

Thanks!
-Jeff

Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-14, 05:16 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
What you propose will work. Just make sure your tiles will fit in the frame evenly, just to keep from having to cut tiles. Use a dry layout of tile to determine where the frame will go. Making the frame a little larger to accommodate tile size makes it look better and a lot less work.

Old 12-06-14, 06:35 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts
I know Larry is not a carpet guy, so, I would peel back the carpet, install your Hearth, and then re-install the carpet to fit snuggly around the new platform. Lift the carpet and peek under with a small hand held mirror and see if you can locate any carpet seam. If they run parallel to the staircase behind the unit, release the seam and simply fold the carpet back into the room.

Old 12-06-14, 03:40 PM
Thanks guys!