New to tiling, have a quick question in regards to my subfloor

Old 12-19-14, 07:40 AM
S
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
New to tiling, have a quick question in regards to my subfloor

Hello everyone,

I am new to tiling, well, just new to doing a whole tile project by myself.

I am about to install wood-look tile in my kitchen. Our current kitchen has sticky vinyl tile that I will remove.

Our subfloor is wood board (like 1x3 or even 5/8 x 3) and not plywood. I am in a row home and the floor is very flat and sound. Is it okay to tile above this subfloor without adding an additional layer of plywood before the tile board or ditra goes down?

I am actually interested in using ditra since it is relatively thin, but what are the pros/cons to ditra vs backer board? (I will search to see if this was discussed in a previous thread, but my main question is about the subfloor).

Thanks.

Old 12-19-14, 07:43 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
Ditra is thinner than CBU but a little on the spendy side.

Yes, you will need plywood on top of the planks. Additionally, what's the size, spacing and unsupported span of the floor joists?

Old 12-19-14, 10:34 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Supersnake83,

As Mitch said, you can not install any concrete backer or membrane such as Ditra over any plank regardless whether it's a subfloor or finished floor. Examine the planks closely for slight cupping using a metal straight edge such as a square with a flashlight for back lighting. If your 3" wide boards are flat, you can get away with ½" underlayment grade ext. glued layers ply. If not, or if the boards were wider, you'd have to go thicker. Thicker is better anyway, so you decided.

I highly recommend Ditra but not just cuz it's only ⅛" installed.

The joists info requested is your next step. See if you can figure their species and grade too. Tell us how old the house is and its geographic location.

Jaz

Old 12-19-14, 02:51 PM
S