Damp basement and tiles... can they play nice together?

Old 01-13-15, 12:23 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Damp basement and tiles... can they play nice together?

Hey all,

We live near a lake. Our basement humidity during the summer has been up to 75. I know this is high. I don't see any actual leaking though, which is good news. Most of the moisture accumulates from being so close to the water (at least, that's my logical assumption). With a good dehumidifier, I can regulate it fairly well. Anyway, Our basement is unfinished and I want to renovate it. I want to tile some of the walls. Here's where I need help. So far, I've used a type of "sealing" paint (it's thick, goes on almost like Elmer's Glue). My next step will be to build a wood frame of 2X4s which I'll eventually secure cement board to. Once my cement board is up, I will attach the tiles to that cement board. I guess I'm wondering if this sounds ok. I'm not very experienced, and I want to make sure that I'm not creating a trap where mold can grow (or any other forseeable problems). Am I on the right track? Should I change my plans? Take new things into consideration? Your advice will be very helpful! Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-13-15, 02:28 AM
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Basement moisture issues always start by making sure all rain water is directed well away from the foundation. Then, although newer foundations can be installed in a moisture proof manner, all existing foundations will pass the moisture in the soil through to the inside air. It can typically be slowed but stopped as it will come from the footings and floor as well as the walls.

Then there is the moisture that comes from the air. You mention 75% RH, but we would need to know the temperature inside and outside along with the humidity outside.

We should also have some idea as to your location to judge heating or cooling issues.

Here is a link on renovating basements that will get you started.