Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Flooring, Floor Coverings and Coatings Center > Wall and Flooring Indoor Tiling
Reload this Page >

Installing a kitchen backsplash- what goes on the wall before the tiles?

Installing a kitchen backsplash- what goes on the wall before the tiles?

Old 01-20-15, 10:09 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Installing a kitchen backsplash- what goes on the wall before the tiles?

Hi guys,

I'll be re-doing my kitchen this Spring. New cabinets, new sink, the whole deal.

Right now, we have these mirrors:

But we're removing them, and adding a tiled backsplash. And behind those mirrors is regular 'ole cheap drywall.

This is my first attempt at installing a backsplash. So here are my questions:
  • What goes between the drywall and the backsplash tiles? Backer board? Some sort of waterproof membrane? Or do I tile straight onto the drywall?
  • There are a lot of types of backsplash tiling, but I'm not sure which one to choose. Which one is easiest to install, but looks the nicest? Glass and stone ? Glass blend? Ceramic?

Help me to not screw up this project!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-20-15, 10:21 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
It's ok to set tile over drywall in dry locations. I'd be more concerned with what the condition of the drywall will be once the glass is removed.

Old 01-20-15, 01:38 PM
Received 61 Votes on 57 Posts
Agree with Marksr. If the drywall is in good shape after removing the mirrors then all you need is to seal the wallboard if the surface has been compromised. However, if when removing the mirror tile, the wallboard breaks or crumbles then no harm in replacing with backer board.

Old 01-20-15, 05:19 PM
The mirrors are mostly likely secured in-place using that awful, black sticky tack stuff. That's what was used in other mirrors around the house. It ripped the hell out of my drywall paper when I renovated another part of the house.