Help going to tile kitchen floor to new condo (No experience)

Old 08-11-15, 11:55 AM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help going to tile kitchen floor to new condo (No experience)

Ok so i will be closing escrow in a week or so on a small 1 bed/ bath 807 sqft total, and i want to tile the kitchen floor (no more then 80 sqft). Currently the kitchen has vinyl flooring dont know how old it is, but the condo was built in 1969 and there weren't very many upgrade except laminate floors and maybe paint.

So I really would like some advice on which type of tiles i should use i was looking at this type of tile

MS International Metro Charcoal 12 in. x 24 in. Glazed Porcelain Floor and Wall Tile (16 sq. ft. / case)-NMETCHA1224 - The Home Depot

I have viewed several videos on tile installation and seems fairly straight forward as long as i follow the steps it should go well.

cabinets will be white so im assuming white tiles or something light. anyways im an amateur just looking for guidance and any helpful pointers and headsup before starting this project in the next week or two. If the kitchen goes well i will do the bathroom since it too is vinyl.Name:  1.jpg
Views: 309
Size:  8.3 KBName:  2.jpg
Views: 321
Size:  14.3 KBName:  3.jpg
Views: 269
Size:  6.3 KB

sorry photos arent great, but you see the area is small for the bathroom and kitchen.

Also i dont know if this matters, but i willbe repainting/resurfacing the cabinets and putting new hardware on them, the cabinets location will still be the same.

Old 08-11-15, 12:01 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Let's start at the basics: what's the composition of the subfloor and the size, spacing and unsupported span of the floor joists (assuming you have joists)?

Old 08-11-15, 12:14 PM
K