Best way to remove and level this hearth

Old 06-06-17, 01:11 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Best way to remove and level this hearth

Newbie here taking on a what I was hoping would not be too big a project. My plan is to remove hearth and then tile over it and the brick fireplace.

Name:  Fireplace.jpg
Views: 3230
Size:  41.6 KB

Removing the hearth is going to be harder then I thought. Pounding away with a 4 pound hammer and chisel is not getting me very far and and I can see by the way the pieces are breaking off that it's going to be tough to get this level again. Tiling over the existing tile was not really an option because I want the new tile to be flush with floor as it is now. Is pounding away the best way to continue or is there something I can rent at HD (rotary hammer, demo hammer?) that will make this job easier?

For fireplace, the white paint is chipping so I assume my options are either to get the paint off before putting on thinset or leave the paint and put cement board on top of it. Any thoughts on which is better? I'd prefer to go straight to thinset but chipping away at this paint is also slow going. Is there something I can put on it to make it peel off easier? I know it's not lead paint as I'm the idiot who painted it.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 06-06-17, 01:35 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Forget the hammer & chisel. Rent a chipping gun. You can buy paint remover to remove the paint. Just be careful when you use it. Wear gloves & safety glasses & make sure that there are no children in the room. Open the windows.

Old 06-06-17, 02:23 PM
Thanks for the reply. Is a chipping gun the same as a demolition hammer? When I search for chipping hammers on my local rental site, it's bringing up demo hammers and rotary hammers.

Old 06-06-17, 02:42 PM
Received 95 Votes on 86 Posts
Floor tile will be easy once you get under the tiles they should just pop up.

Are you attempting to take the brick out?

Old 06-06-17, 03:16 PM