Do I need to replace subfloor?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-18, 10:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Do I need to replace subfloor?

Hi, I am redoing our bathroom flooring and replacing the toilet. As I pulled up the previous floor covering (carpet???) I could tell there was water around the toilet but doesn’t seem terrible. Should I replace the subfloor, or can I clean and prime, and then lay the new floor (tile) over it without replacing?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-18, 10:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Here is the picture of the subfloor if this helps
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 03-25-18, 10:25 AM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,124
If it is not soft then it is just a discoloration.

Your tile gets set on cement backer board (or similar approved membrane) not directly on the wood. Backer board is set in a bed of thinset and screwed down with appropriate fasteners for the brand backer board you used. You also need a beefy enough subfloor to be able to install tile on. How thick is your subfloor?
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-18, 10:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 137
These are times where I think a moisture meter would be handy.

If the wood feels moist/damp, I would probably replace the subfloor just to make sure mold doesn't form.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-18, 12:37 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,247
It looks a lot like particle board, although the picture is too fuzzy to tell. If it is, yes, replace it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'