porcelain tile on plywood subfloor

Old 08-05-01, 09:58 PM
sabb65
Visiting Guest
I would like some advice on what's the best way to install porcelain tile on plywood subfloor. Any recommendation on how to prepare the surface other than cleaning it? Someone had mentioned to lay out some mesh to bind the tiles. It's a tiny kitchen floor so I'd like to do the job myself though I've never done before. I'd appreciate any advice or recommendation on how to begin. Thank you,

Sabina

Sponsored Links
Old 08-06-01, 03:46 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Sabina,

I think you need to put cement backer board over the plywood, then the tile. I say "I think" because you haven't told us much. What's on the floor now, and how thick is the plywood? How big are the joists underneath, and how close together are they?

John

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 05-23-13 at 04:00 AM.
Old 08-07-01, 05:07 PM
sabb65
Visiting Guest
John,
The plywd is 3/4" thick and the floor is quite even. I chipped up the old ceramic tile, the type with self adhesive backing on paper. (It was just glued on top of plywd.) The new tile I had already bought is the 3/8" thk. porcelain floor tile with rough edges. How thick is this cement board? I think the subfloor is built up from concrete floor level about 1-1/2" up to top of plywd. (It's an apartment building in the city and the kitchen floor is only about 35 sqft.)is there any way to minimize the building-up like using glue of some sort? Do I need the cement board because of the moisture of the grout? Please advise further if you can. Thanks.

Sabina

Old 08-08-01, 03:17 PM
J
Hi Sabina,

You are confusing me (it's easy) by mentioning self-adhesive tiles. Do you mean ceramic mosaics that were held together with perforated paper?