corners and pattern matching

Old 04-03-06, 10:53 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
corners and pattern matching

I did some searching through this forum and couldn't find quite what I was looking for, so I thought I would post a question.

I'm going to be hanging some wallpaper in my dining room soon. I've never done this before. I have been doing some reading on it and am not too worried about the mechanics of hanging the paper. But I am not sure about what to do when I reach the corners - all inside corners BTW.

A booklet I got from a local wallpaper store says to pick a corner of the room to be the last corner, where the pattern mismatch will be. I have a corner next to a china cabinet in mind that will somewhat hide it. They say that when coming to the last piece on a wall, to trim the piece so that only a half inch overlaps onto the next wall. Then start the first piece of the adjacent blank wall in the corner, lining up with a plumb line of course.

It seems to me that by doing this I will have a pattern mismatch at every corner. Is it adviseable to trim the first piece of the blank wall vertically so that the pattern lines up as it comes around the corner, or is that a no-no?

The pattern is a series of vertical stripes of differing colors. This is vinyl paper, going on drywall. I have put a coat of a Killz type primer I got at the wallpaper store over the only coat of paint on the walls.

Unless I'm missing something unstated in the booklet I have, each of my four corners will be unmatched corners. Any comments or suggestions appreciated.

Old 04-03-06, 12:28 PM