drywall

Old 10-09-02, 03:18 PM
quantel62
Visiting Guest
Question drywall

Hey there,

I'm just starting to do my drywall and I don't have a clue as what to do. Mind you many people have given me their two cents worth.

So, here are my questions:

What size sheets should I use? 12', 10', 8'

If I have to make a joint, is it better to have a larger gap or try to make it as tight as possible?

I'll be using drywall screws, do I put them 2 of them 2" apart, every 6"?

Do I screw the drywall right to the edge on the ceiling or have the wall drywall force that up?

In the bathroom, I have a corner shower stall, do I put the drywall over the shower edge or underneather?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 10-09-02, 04:32 PM
JRRR.
Visiting Guest
Fellow drywall novice here. Maybe I can give you some hints.

Use as big a sheet you can safely handle. Bigger sheets=less seams=less taping=nicer job. Bigger sheets are heavy though. Need lots of manpower.

Joints should be made as tight as possible. Butt joints that are made when two pieces join on an unfinished or cut end are especially troublesome. I like to join these and then bevel (open up the joint) them a bit with a sharp razor knife. Any joint larger than 1/4" or so should be pre filled with joint compound and allowed to dry before taping. Rememeber to leave a 1/2" or so space at the bottom to the floor.

Drywall screws. If you are attaching drywall to wood use coarse thread and fine thread if you have metal studs. I normally put 5 screws across a full board. Two in the beveled edge and three equally spaced in the field. I attach to every stud. Make sure your studs are aligned first-may have to shim or plane.