Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

drywall expectations

Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 10:56 AM   #1  
casazza
drywall expectations

I am finishing my basement and had unfortunately opted to contract out the drywall. What I thought should have been one weeks worth of work has now turned into a month. After cutting the wires in several outlet boxes, there was a week delay before the hanging could finish and the taping could start. Once the taping was complete, they told me I could start painting immediately. Well once I started painting I noticed imperfections. I can notice two vertical seams where the drywall butts up to each other, but more noticeable is the top of the drywall. I am using ceiling tile so there was no drywall ceiling. You can notice where the drywall tapers off and see a line along the top of the wall. They did mud that area but it is noticeable. I am using a grid system that is only 1 1-4" from the joists so the imperfection will be visible.

I spoke to the contractor and of course they said the seams were because of the existing framing. And there isn't much they can do about the top of the wall. I asked if more mud would solve the problem but they said no. I tend to disagree because where the corners were fanned out, you do not see it.

They are basically saying I have to live with this. Someone is coming over tomorrow to take a another look. Are these normal conditions? And if I am to live with this am I expected to pay the full amount of the bid? If they still refuse to do the work, can I contract out to someone else to fix and deduct the costs from the original contractor bill?

I figured to ask your expert opinion before proceeding.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

10-17-02, 07:27 PM   #2  
Hollywood