Plaster Wall Replacement with Drywall

Old 04-28-03, 12:30 AM
c7r7i7s7
Visiting Guest
Plaster Wall Replacement with Drywall

Hi this is my first post.
I am dealing with a wall that is not drywall. To be honest, it doesn't really feel like Plaster either. It's some kind've thin sheet, is this what sheet rock is like?

My question is that I want, not really want..but my wife wants me to replace it with drywall.

If it's plaster, will I have to tear out all those wood slats or "sticks", if i may, and will there be 2x4's behind them to attach the drywall too? I want to find out before I get into a mess I can't get out of.

By the way, I've never drywalled, but have seen the steps. Great huh?

Any advise or answers would be great.

I'm a heck of an electrician and plumber though

Old 04-28-03, 07:02 AM
NutAndBoltKing
Visiting Guest
There are a couple of ways to find out if the wall in question was constructed with sheetrock (drywall) or with plaster and lath (wood slats). The age of the home is probably the first way, but poking a small 'out of line of sight' hole in a closet is another, as is opening up an electrical switch and peeking through the box, as is using an old fashioned stud finder - the kind with the magnet. If you run the magnet type stud finder up and down the studs it will react to all of the many, MANY nails that were driven through the wood slats needed for the plaster.

Old 04-29-03, 02:43 AM
c7r7i7s7
Visiting Guest
Okay..Sheetrock is drywall..wasn't sure.
I did that last night on a different wall, and there are studs behind it, so that's good. The walls just feel so much more solid than drywall, i just wasn't sure.
Thanks.

Old 04-29-03, 06:33 AM
NutAndBoltKing
Visiting Guest