Drywall Ceiling Problem

Old 06-04-03, 02:17 PM
SpacemanSpiff
Visiting Guest
Drywall Ceiling Problem

Hi there. This is my first time to post here.

My wife and I recently purchased our first house about 6 months ago. It is a brand-new starter-type house and it has drywall ceilings throughout.

My problem is, all around the house, along the edges of the ceiling where it meets the wall, there are bubbles forming over the paint over the points where the screws are located that fasten the ceiling to the studs behind the drywall. The paint slowly starts puffing outward over the screw, and eventually begins to crack as it swells further. Eventually the paint starts to flake off exposing the screw beneath.

We first noticed this with two screws directly above our master bathtub, but have since noticed the problem spreading to our Master bedroom, hallway, laundry room, and our second bathroom. This past weekend I went through and counted them all and found this occuring in 9 places so far, and only at points along the top of a wall. This is not occuring anywhere on the ceiling away from a wall, at least not so far.

I am stumped as to what could be causing this, and my builder can be a hassle to deal with, so I am trying to get some idea of what might be causing it before trying to make a claim under my home warranty.

Does anyone have any idea what this might be a symptom of? The only place it is occuring is directly over the spots where the screws are located, and only along the edge of the ceiling where it meets the walls. The paint is perfect everywhere else on the ceiling.

A huge thanks to anyone who is able to help!

Old 06-04-03, 03:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts