repairing plaster wall

Old 06-04-03, 04:43 PM
sara15
Visiting Guest
repairing plaster wall

Hi,
I'd be grateful for some advice -- (which may be to pay a pro to do this job) -- but, I'm hoping to be able to do it myself.

I've done lots of is scraping, spackling and painting and simple carpentry before (shelves, doors back on), but nothing more.

Problem is a small bathroom. Someone before me papered the walls. Noticing unevenness and some bumps below the paper, and one top corner where it looked like there had been a leak and the paper bubbled, I peeled back the paper. Chunks of dried up plaster feel off. My guess is, that after taking the rest of the paper off, I'll find more of that corner comes down and there will be cracks and some smaller dried pieces elsewhere.

I've no experience with drywall and was wondering if I could just replaster (using joint compound or something a little better to work with than plaster). Smooth it as well as I could, sand and paint. But...? Any suggestions or information very much appreciated.

Please email direct to: [email protected] -- and thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-04-03, 06:06 PM
mudder
Visiting Guest
repairing plaster wall

here in canada ther is a sheetrock 90 which is very good in areas that are damp and dries in 90 minutes. Its powdered and you mix the amount you need as you have short working time an hour at best. If you just want to repair the surface this is best as it is sandable. However you may want to make sure that exhaust fan is adequate ,if there is continued damage and no apparent leaks ie: from the window,shower doors etc then there may not be any or damaged vapour barrier behind the drywall.

Old 06-05-03, 12:37 PM