plaster ceiling

Old 07-14-03, 10:41 PM
fitzirishcream
Visiting Guest
Angry plaster ceiling

I am fairly new at this home repair thing, so pardon my ignorance!; I'm learning (but a quick learner!) I am helping my Mom do some repairs aorund the house that have needed to be done for some time now. The house--at best guesstimate--is about 60 years old. The living room ceiling was 'lowered' some years ago with 12'x12' tiles. the runners were nailed (with incorrect nails) and aligned horribly. The tiles started sagging, falling, etc. and that's where I come in. I removed the tiles and was going to remove the runners (as they too were falling out because of being not fixured correctly) but noticed that in many areas the plaster had either cracked or just fallen itself too. The problem is is that there is no lath that I have been reading about: the plaster was applied directly to the ceiling foundation (which is like a concrete-type material, but gritty.) 1) Is this a normal building technique and have you heard of it? and 2) how do I repair the cracks/missing plaster? Should I/can I replace it? Like I answered Mom, "I have no idea!"
Thank You!

Old 07-15-03, 12:58 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First remove any loose material. Go around and pry lightly with a stiff scraper. If anything is loose get rid of it. Fill in all the cracks and gaps with drywall mud. Let that dry. put mesh tape over all cracks and gaps. Then depending on how many cracks and voids you have, apply 2 fill coats and a top coat over the tape. If you have a lot you might want to skim over the entire ceiling. The good thing about plaster is you dont have to be really good because most likely it is pretty wavy to begin with.

Old 07-15-03, 06:52 PM
fitzirishcream
Visiting Guest