removing texturing on walls

Old 07-13-03, 08:38 PM
katmeg99
Visiting Guest
removing texturing on walls

I just moved into a house that has texturing on the entry hall walls that are plaster with hay. I have tried to remove the hay and plaster with a putty knife; however, it is an extremely tedious process. I have been doing this for about 4 months now and haven't even finished one-eighth of one wall. Any suggestions? Someone told me I should texture over it, but I am sure I will need to remove a lot of the straw/hay. Can this be done with an electric sander, and if so, how do I retexture over it?
Other suggestions are that I scrape everything off and float a new wall, which for the novice here is way beyond my comprehension. I'm afraid of putting something right on top of the straw/hay because of mold. Is that a concern?

Old 07-14-03, 06:51 AM
T
Received 39 Likes on 32 Posts
Do you live in a strawbale house or do you mean there is straw in the plaster? Could you be mistaking sisal or animal hair for straw? In what part of the country do you live? Can you see the straw in the finished texture before you scrape anything off? What color is the plaster. It sounds like when you describe how hard it is that it might be Portland cemet plaster.
It's too bad one can't see the post he is replying to while he generates his own post. I will have to post more information when I have reread you original note. I think you would be best off time and frustraion wise to cover over what you have. Unless there is mold present now you should not have a mold problem simply from recoating what is already there.
OK, I'm back. What is behind the plaster when you get it scraped off? I think we can help you out here once you answer these questions. Oh. thought of another. How old is the house? If it is not a strawbale house what is the construction of the house? Masonry? Wood frame? Something else?

Old 07-14-03, 10:48 AM
katmeg99
Visiting Guest