Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Clueless

Visiting Guest

10-12-03, 09:30 PM   #1  
Kriztufer
Clueless

My wife and I just bought a condo and want to seal/open an existing closet.

The closet opens on the living room side, we want to seal that side up and open up the "back" of it (in the kitchen) and put the refrigerator "in" the closet to open up space in the kitchen.

The walls are plaster and I'm not sure what to close up the open side of the closet with.

How can I open up the kitchen side without doing alot of damage to the plaster?

Is there anyway I can do it and retain a clean edge, as opposed to putting up molding around the opening?

Any help, pointers, tips, etc would be GREATLY apprecated. As you can probably see, this is my first attempt and any kind of home "remodeling"

Sponsored Links

CAL

10-13-03, 01:15 AM   #2  
You have some things to consider first. If the wall you intend to open up is a bearing wall you will have to add a header to hold up the section of the wall from which you remove studs.
If the walls are plaster the best way to reapir them is with plaster. Others will tell you to drywall them. It is true that drywall is more amateur friendly hence its popularity among do it yourselfers.