Ceiling cracking

Old 05-02-04, 06:48 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ceiling cracking

I live in Maine where there is an extreme in temperatures from season to season. This spring, in two of my bedrooms, the ceiling has cracked and dropped down at what appears in both rooms to be a seam (it's a perfectly straight cut). I have images of this that I wanted to attach to this post, but it won't let me (is there anyway I an do that?). Anyway, my question is- how do I re-attach the part of the ceiling that dropped and then fix the crack? I'm very new at this, so laymen's terms, please. Thank you in advance!

Old 05-03-04, 05:25 AM
How old is your house? Do you have plaster or drywall? Do you have any texture on the ceiling? Thanks.

Old 05-03-04, 07:23 AM
T
The house is 16 years old. I believe the ceiling is plaster, and it is textured (bumpy). I have a couple of JPEG images I can send you, if that's possible.

Old 05-03-04, 12:08 PM
tvshooter,

Can't post pics here directly. You must post them on a photo hosting site that permits public viewing & then post a link to the page here. If you're unsure of how to do that see the announcement at the top of this forum title "How to do Pics" or something of that nature.

The description of your problem would lead me to believe you have a drywall ceiling & the seam between sheets has cracked, but it's hard to say for sure, so yes a pic would be helpful.

Something to consider is that with the ceiling being textured in these rooms, it may difficult to impossible to repair this back to brand new looking w/o scraping the old texture off & redoing it. Matching texture isn't the easiest thing to do.

If this indeed a drywall ceiling You will need to push the sheet back up tight to the joists & reattach it securely with drywall screws, then retape the seams with paper tape & joint compound, (aka: MUD) I like the lite mud, usually in a box with blue lettering or the blue lid 5 gal bucket.