Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Spackling plaster walls and a few problems...

Visiting Guest

02-01-05, 09:59 AM   #1  
Art Vandalay
Spackling plaster walls and a few problems...

I am a complete newb to fixing things so I only know what I read online..anyways on the with the problems:

Problem #1 - I recently started scraping and sanding my walls in preperation for painting next week. Well, just yesterday I came across an area where it looked like all of the paint coats were coming off so I ended up scraping the paint off all the way down to the plaster wall. The plaster is in decent shape but there is some staining on it. I spackled the area and smoothed it out flush with the rest of the wall. It looks okay, except for the fact that there are brown stains bleeding through the spackle. Should I be worrying about this or should I just continue on and prime over it?

I had a similar thing in the bathroom but the owners of the building came in and scaped it all down to the plaster and threw some "mud" on it. Then they primed and painted over it. I'm not sure exactly what they were using, it looked different than my spackle. ??

Problem # 2 - During the course of the above I ended up coming across an area where the plaster crumbled off down to the lathe. So I am now staring at an 8" x 3" - one inch deep area that I have no idea how to fill? I started to use my spackle and then realized that wasn't going to work so I stopped.

Any help is appreciated.

Sponsored Links

CAL

02-01-05, 05:14 PM   #2