Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Popcorn Texture re-shoot

Visiting Guest

05-19-05, 05:49 AM   #1  
billerby
Popcorn Texture re-shoot

I have been re-shooting popcorn texture on ceilings for a few years now. Normally I scrap down the loose stuff, make any neccessary repairs to the surface, spot prime or completly prime with Zinnsser 1-2-3 if there appears to be discoloration, let dry and re-shoot the popcorn (I mix my batches with ceiling paing). Ocaisionaly I have the the ceiling begin to drop after the re-shoot. My theory is that it is because the ceiling was not primed before the original popcorn was shot.
The result is very wet mess that must be completley craped down. The seams hold the texture, but the-primed wallboard surface does not. The two areas must then be skimed to get a smooth ceiling for the reshoot. Are there any remedies that would allow me to avoid the new popcorn dropping? When I explain the potential problems to customers it is enough to nearly talk myself out of the job.
Looking for any feedback.

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

TN

05-19-05, 06:15 AM   #2