Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page >

Post-Katrina Drywall Restoration Questions

Old 11-02-05, 06:42 PM
BillsBayou
Visiting Guest

6" of flood water and I call myself Lucky.

House is gutted to 49". The joints were all horizontal and that makes for a much easier house gutting!

Now the fun begins. I'm an amateur do-it-yourself guy, but I did do a summer of construction work while in college, so I'm going to tackle this myself.

I have an air-compressor and a "Spraying Mantis" texture hopper/gun. I'll follow the directions for my desired orange peel result (I've never liked texture rollers, for large jobs they leave a noticeable direction track). I'm planning on spraying texture as high as the ceiling for an even texture look. All of the remaining drywall is textured and painted of course.

Question 1: How much sanding do I need to do on the existing sheetrock (everything above 49" that I did not pull out)?

When gutting the house, I used tin-snips to cut the corner metal at 49" on all outside corners. I did my best but some of the metal pulled higher than the 49" line and the plaster has cracked as high as the ceiling in some cases.

Questions 2: Should I pull the rest of the corner metal on these outside corners or am I going to end up retexturing the ceilings as well? (or how well will I be able to repair the corner metal below 49"?)

Grab-bag Question: The den had paneling with unfinished drywall behind it. consequently, the ceiling/wall joints are all un-taped. Any suggestions?

Old 11-02-05, 08:19 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by BillsBayou
6" of flood water and I call myself Lucky.

House is gutted to 49". The joints were all horizontal and that makes for a much easier house gutting!

Now the fun begins. I'm an amateur do-it-yourself guy, but I did do a summer of construction work while in college, so I'm going to tackle this myself.