Sagging Drywall hole in the ceiling.

Old 11-29-05, 06:13 AM
Sagging Drywall hole in the ceiling.

The Previous owner installed a ceiling fan in my bathroom at some point which is good. The drywall around the fan is sagging and cracked and he forgot to insulate the ducting which is bad. I Went in the attic to insulate the pipe and noticed none of the drywall from the bathroom ceiling is tied to the joists anymore I can litterally run my fingers under the joists and drywall.

It's an old house os 3/8" sheets of drywall were used all over (ceiling and walls) I'm guessing it's sagged over time and is no longer held in place.

The joists run 24" on center.

Am I going to have to replace the whole ceiling in the bathroom? I've never done a ceiling before. And I have no budget for it.

I was going to go up there and clear the celullose (like 10" worth) all around and cut out the bad piece screw in some 1/4" ply to the remaining good drywall and screw in a patch but with the current drywall sagging I imagine that wouldn't hold long.

The other option I'm thinking is to cut my patch the size of the span between both joist and use 1/2" drywall which would come out flush with the rest do to the sagging and screw it in the joists and tape and mud it.

What's the better option? I know taking it all down and puttting a 5/8" ceiling would be best but I don't have the expertise to do that I think

EDIT: The bathroom is small and likely 2 sheets of drywall should cover the ceiling. I think the room is 5-6' wide by 10' long.

Last edited by Gotrek; 11-29-05 at 06:39 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-05, 06:48 AM
I wanted to clarify only the area around the fan seems to be sagging however I did not clear the cellulose elsewhere tto check.

I'm going to clear it away tonight and find where the sheet of drywall that is sagging begins and ends and replace it with 3/8" sheet of the same size or f the entire ceiling is sagging I'll get 5/8" and replace it all..