Should I remove this wall

Old 12-18-05, 09:16 PM
Greys_home
Visiting Guest
Should I remove this wall

This is my first time posting...but I have been doing a lot of searching on the web to try and get some ideas for my design dilemna. Here it is - we are a young family of 4 who have bought a 25 year old - 4 level split. The house is very long and narrow. The main floor where the front entrance is, has a living room and dining room in a "L" shape with the kitchen filling in the rest of the L to make a square. The front entrance comes off the side of the livingroom with 2 big closets before going into the livingroom. You can see the kitchen entrance from the front door entrance way. There is a big window in the dining room and 2 narrow windows in the living room with a fireplace in between. The windows face east and it is very sunny in these rooms! We are going to be putting in hardwood and I am wondering if we should remove the wall that seperates the living room from the kitchen and the wall that seperates the dining room from the kitchen. (it is the shape of the "L") It would make the main floor all one large open space instead of the division of the kitchen. I have painted out my cupboards in the kitchen (white) and put in new hardware(brushed nickel finish). I have played around with this idea since we moved in but now that we are going to be replacing the flooring, I either do it now or not at all... oh and it is a vaulted ceiling and the wall that goes around the kitchen does not go to the ceiling but at the lowest point is about 3 feet from the ceiling and on the highest point about 5 feet from the ceiling. The stairs going up to the bedrooms and down to the family room are just out side the kitchen.