Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page >

wallpaper or paint over damaged drywall

Old 03-25-06, 09:20 PM

The drywall in my basement was covered with wood siding. I ripped the wood off so now there are a lot of nail holes in the boards but no other major damages. There was also wallpaper on the boards underneath the wood siding and it just peeled off without doing any damage, but there may be wallpaper glue left on it. The drywall boards were not taped so there are gaps in between the boards. Since I have no experience with taping/sanding/patching drywall, I would really appreciate any suggestions on what's the easiest thing to do.

I'm thinking about leaving the boards as is and putting up a thick textured wallpaper to hide the imperfections. Will this work? Or do I still need to tape/patch/sand? If I still need to tape/patch/sand, how good a job do I need to do for wallpapering? If it had to be really smooth, would it be easier to just use new boards vs. patching the existing ones? There are a LOT of nail holes but they are small holes. I have some new boards in the garage and I can use them.

The other alternative would be to get the drywall in a paintable shape and paint it using some faux techniques to hide the imperfections. Again I'm not sure if how smooth the walls must be for this.

Basically I'm looking for a solution that is
Achievable by a beginner
Low dust, minimal sanding if possible
Looks decent

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-26-06, 05:43 AM
Snowbird,

My opinion is that I would finish the existing drywall and then paint it. If you were to wallpaper it, you would first need to tape the joints anyway in order to have a clean job. And the cost of wallpaper would be far greater than the cost of the joint compound to fill the nail holes in the remainder of the walls