Adding A Stud on Plaster/Lathe walls

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-06, 02:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Adding A Stud on Plaster/Lathe walls

I'm installing a HDTV, and am required to add a stud to an old plaster/lathe wall over a fireplace. The area is delineated by the mantle below and door finishing pieces on either side. I think there is no stud there to speak of, because it sounds entirely hollow, wherever I tap. Since the walls are so old, would you recommend even using a magnetic stud finder? I've also driven nails into where I think there would be studs, and sunk screws as well, but I can't be entirely sure.

I'm thinking I may need to add a stud, then.

If I remove a large chunk of the lathe/plaster area, how can it be patched back properly unless I cut out enough to go from stud to stud?

A bit confused..and your sage knowledge is humbly requested

Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-08-06, 07:22 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
If it is over a fireplace, there should be a stud dead center over the mantel, and one 16" to either side of it (provided it was built properly). A good sonar type stud finder in deep scan mode should detect a stud for you. If I understand what you want to do, you will almost surely have to remove more than an inspection hole to install a stud. Check for an existing one first, and post back your findings.
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-06, 08:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks, Larry. I found what seems to be a stud, but as these are older walls & a custom made 1910 craftsman house in California, it was further than 16". However, it was dead center..or rather two inches off from dead center.

Say I wanted to replace that stud, would it involve removing the plaster/lathe from either side to next stud center right to stud center left & replacing it with a (hopefully) same thickness piece--either 1/2" or 5/8"? I'm not wording this too well..

Hopefully it will be strong enough for a 100+lb TV on an extension mount arm.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes