Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

expando help

11-01-06, 06:10 AM   #1  
expando help

hello..i'm a newbie with a question.i have a mobile home with an expando. does anybody know how this thing works to get it back in.i'm 99% sure it is a slider not a tip in. thank you

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

TN

11-01-06, 06:36 AM   #2  
Welcome to the forums

While I've been in several MH with the slide out addition, I've never worked on one. Have you tried calling any of the MH dealers in your area? Maybe the MH manufacture web site?

Sorry I can't be of better help

retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

11-01-06, 11:05 AM   #3  
expando problem

talk to a couple dealers,but all they want to do is sell you a new one.

Forum Topic Moderator

TN

11-01-06, 11:56 AM   #4  
Maybe this site http://www.mobilehomerepair.com/ will be able to help you.

retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

11-27-06, 05:49 PM   #5  
Expando or Tip Out

A Tip Out has a slant roof (so that it can TIP out).
An Expando (ie Roll Out or Slide Out - depending on what part of the country you are from) will have a flat roof.
What ever, they both will be detached by removing both interior panneling or drywall at the points of the addition and the exterior flashing around the addition (which may require the removal of roof coating). At that point remove all fasteners.
If it is a Tip Out. In both cases there will be a hinge where the floor of the addition where it meets the main unit floor. Lift from the outside with at least two people on the inside, and TIP in.