54" sheetrock

Old 11-15-06, 04:39 PM
Talking 54" sheetrock

I am doing a garage conversion and once I have my joists in there, the final floor to ceiling height will come to 106". I have read that 54" sheets can be had and I figured that would make a lot less work for me. I didn't see this oversize at the local big box store, are they difficult to find? I figure I'd call a drywall outfit in the morning and ask them.

Also, this is a 17' x 20' room, I have some experience in drywalling but have never tried to handle 10 footers. I will be doing it myself, think it'd be a problem?

Oh, and one more thing since I have you on the line! Do y'all prefer paper or fiberglass tape?

Thanks once again for this invaluable website!

Howard

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-06, 05:21 PM
If you're renting a drywall lift for the ceiling, you can handle them alone. If not - get help. The walls shouldn't be a huge issue assuming you can lift them in place without getting a hernia.

Tape?? Paper.....Paper..... Paper......

Old 11-15-06, 05:35 PM
Group Moderator
Worth repeating - paper tape.

Old 11-15-06, 05:41 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
We all agree on the paper tape

Drywall supply house is the only ones who have 54" rock, at least in my neck of the woods.

Old 11-15-06, 06:09 PM
Thanks everyone, I figured the 54" was a specialty. I'll find a drywall shop somewhere, it'd certainly be worth it to me. I'll call a drywall professional tomorrow to track down a store.

The garage was previously finished but I tore the drywall down on the walls for the floor joists, new windows, electrical, insulation, etc. Thankfully I was able to keep the ceiling in place, although I need to scrape off the popcorn (yes, I am aware of possible asbestos).

I'm not very far along yet, should finish up the rim joists this weekend. Paper tape it is!!! Keep y'all posted on my progress. More than likely, it'll be in the form of a question! Thanks again!

Howard

Old 11-15-06, 06:22 PM
Forum Topic Moderator