Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page > What type of laser level to put drop ceiling

What type of laser level to put drop ceiling

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-07, 04:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
What type of laser level to put drop ceiling

Do I need a special laser level to put the edge pieces of my drop ceiling up to get started, or can I just find the highest point I can go on the walls and then just work from there by leveling the laser on each wall and working around the room.

I hope this makes sense, I just prefer not to have to go out and get/rent a differnt laser level when I already have one.

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-07, 04:56 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Not sure what type level you have. I use a rotating laser mounted on a laser pole with adjustable table to which it attaches. Once the pole is set relatively plumb, I adjust the height and lock it in, then level the laser, setting the mark where I want it, and let it run. Since it is in the middle of the room, it isn't in the way.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-07, 05:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
I just have on you put on the wall and level and hit the button to turn the laser on. Woudl this work?
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-07, 05:07 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Sure it would. You will have to determine the height of the ceiling on one wall, attach the level and run that line, marking it intermediately with a pencil. Change walls and put the level where your last mark was, and proceed around the wall. If you end up with the last line matching the first line.....PLAY BALL! If not, make subtle adjustments in the lines as you go, as long as it isn't a large difference.
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-07, 05:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Excellent, thanks
 
  #6  
Old 03-01-07, 03:03 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
You also ustilize the level (rotary) as you install the grid as well. It is used to set the height of the grid as you attach it to the suspension wires.

If you don't do this, the wall edge can be perfectly level but the field can be all cattywampus.

A string can be drawn across from the edging but you have to do it every place you are installing grid pieces. A rotary level is much faster and easier and more accurate.
 
  #7  
Old 03-01-07, 03:17 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Just remember to raise the rotary laser 1" when you are through with the outside walls. This will give a better view as to where to bend your support wires so they will fit into the main tees.
 
  #8  
Old 03-01-07, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 94
What size room are we talking about, also sounds like you have a line laser if it's similar to mine you should be able to rotate from ehere it's anchored. What i'm saying is that with mine I set it at the height I want, then I shoot marks in all corners snap a line and voila. As far as leveling the mains clamp a jet line next to each mains as you frame it. Back to my original question if the room is 12'x12' or smaller use a level it will look fine.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.