bad plaster walls

Old 10-13-08, 03:30 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
bad plaster walls

we just bought a house that was built in 1942, and some of its walls were covered with wallpaper. After stripping off the wallpaper, most walls were in a rough shape, they had original paint, positive for lead, and flaky in many parts.
I was advised to prime it with an oil based primer, then plaster the whole wall with mud (or skim coat it). The problem is that they're big walls, especially on the staircase, and i have never done that before, and so worried that i won't end up with smooth surfaces (with no bumps and waves). I thought about installing thin dry wall sheets on the walls (1/4inch), as i have a thin baseboard and thin trims (and crown moldings), but i read that it might crack
Any suggestions?
Thanks!!

Sponsored Links
Old 10-14-08, 04:40 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 156 Votes on 138 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Either method should work although laminating the plaster with drywall is best done after removal of the woodwork. It would then need to be altered to fit the new, shorter dimensions.

Skim coating isn't quite so intimidating if you break it up into managable squares. You could do it in a checkerboard pattern and once the whole wall is coated and dry, sanding should level everything out. Any low spots can be recoated with joint compound.

Old 10-17-08, 10:23 AM
Thanks Mark
I think i'll use the drywall in the rooms where i don't have any crown molding, and attempt skim coating on the other walls!
What compound should i use? someone told me to get regular drywall compound (pre-mixed) while another told me to get a mixable mud like durabond 90
any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!

Old 10-17-08, 01:46 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Durabond is a little better but it is a lot harder to work with. You have a set amount of time to use it before it starts to harden and it is a bear to sand!!!! The ready mix joint compound will do a good job and is a lot more user friendly