Any way to remove drywall "gently"?


  #1  
Old 05-07-14, 05:18 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Any way to remove drywall "gently"?

I've got a couple walls where the previous owner just put up new drywall over old, including butted up against some old casing which is now a gap since I removed the goofy-wide/wavy edged casing in order to eventually tear out and remodel the entire closet which it had surrounded (current opening is too short for a real door, and the previous homemade/plywood bypass junk wasn't doing it for me). Also, this new layer of drywall already had a hole in it when I bought the place and results in multiple outlets which have no strong connection to a gang box and wobble when any plug is inserted/removed

Is there some way to remove the second layer of drywall without doing significant damage to the first (in case that layer is potentially salvageable)?

If so, is it really worth the time it'd take to save having to re-hang two walls (one is 15x8 with two outlets and one is 13x8 with outlets, but has a sliding door in it and could probably be covered with less than 2 sheets)?
 
  #2  
Old 05-07-14, 06:36 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,460
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Personally, away with the old, clean up everything and hang new. But, if you want to remove just the newest layer, consider a Roto zip. You could set the depth to just touch or just above the paper on the layer you want to save and the gap it cuts will provide some wiggle room to remove the outside layer.

Bud
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-14, 01:09 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
I know that drywall is considerably more than the buck and a half a sheet it was during my youth (yeah, I'm old) but it is still too cheap to mess around doing numerous patches just to save a few dollars.
 
  #4  
Old 05-08-14, 03:43 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,975
Received 729 Upvotes on 644 Posts
AGree with the others, replace. Besides you mentioned a non boxed outlet. You'll need to remove the wall board and properly anchor those outlets.
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-14, 04:13 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,810
Received 874 Upvotes on 765 Posts
... and the odds are they used adhesive to help secure the 2nd layer of drywall to the 1st. I'd either repair what you have or rip it out and start over.
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-14, 06:30 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks.

As far as the outlets go, there are boxes, it's just that the boxes are mounted for the original drywall, so the layering of the second layer resulted in the outlets being now offset by that thickness from the boxes which weren't moved in the process (as I said, the guy had an aversion to doing anything properly).
 
  #7  
Old 05-08-14, 06:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You just use an extension ring in the box.

Name:  102845_front200.jpg
Views: 238
Size:  6.0 KB

If it is not glued and you can see the nails you can make a removal tool with a 1/8" pipe nipple. Grind a cutting edge on one end and put a cap on the other. Hold over the nail head and strike with a hammer.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: