Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page >

Installing Drywall - Vertical or Horizontal?

Old 11-12-15, 10:57 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I've seen videos where everyone seems to install drywall horizontally. My ceiling is only 6'10", so installing vertically would eliminate a horizontal seam. Is there any reason I should not install the drywall vertically? Thanks!

Old 11-12-15, 11:07 AM
Super Moderator
Received 144 Votes on 112 Posts
FWIW, we put ours in vertically.

Old 11-12-15, 12:17 PM
B
Received 106 Votes on 93 Posts
Either way is OK. Some things to consider for vertical hanging. Studs have to be straight and vertical at the seams to anchor both sheets of drywall. Do the perimiter dimensions create less waste than hanging horizontal. Good luck.

Old 11-12-15, 12:35 PM
C
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Since I'm not a pro sheetrock hanger, I try to minimize butt joints; those where one or both mating pieces do not have tapered edges. Those are the hardest to finish so they don't show when all is done. That usually means running vertical for me. The pros like to run it horizontal because it usually makes fewer feet of taped seams when they use 12 foot sheetrock, and it's less bending and reaching. And they are good at finishing butt joints.

Sheetrock is pretty cheap; I don't worry about a little more waste one way or the other.

Bottom line, either way gets the job done.

Old 11-12-15, 12:35 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 384 Votes on 340 Posts
Hanging horizontally is preferred both because it's easier to tape a long joint at the 4' level versus going up and down with a joint every 4' also hung horizontally any defects in the framing are less likely to show. There are always exceptions. No need to hang 2 boards on a wall less than 4' wide and sometimes it's necessary to reduce the scrap and hanging vertically might do that.

Old 11-12-15, 01:53 PM
B
Received 37 Votes on 34 Posts