In wall wiring - concrete

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-18, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
In wall wiring - concrete

Hello,

So I opened two receptacle size holes in my walls, one upstairs and another on the main floor, but there seems to be no running cable down from the top floor to the main floor and the main floor to the basement. It seems to be all concrete or bricks. Is this common in homes, granted my home was built in the 40s.

The only other option is to run cables from the outside, drills holes and pull the cables outside to reach other rooms in the house.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-11-18, 07:03 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,767
So it appears those two particular receptacles were being feed from another receptacles in a horizontal feed. Go to you basement and trace the line as they go up into the living area. Then open the box up in the 1st floor closet to were you saw it feed up.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-18, 11:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,807
No existing receptacles Norm.... new installation.

If you opened one hole and saw solid masonry..... opening the second one wasn't going to improve the situation. You will need to use a surface mount method of wing like Wiremold or bring the wiring in from outside if you are working with outside walls. Wiring outside a home can look tacky.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-12-18 at 03:35 PM. Reason: typo
  #4  
Old 07-12-18, 02:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
I should note that the wall I opened into was the outer wall on the right side as the left side is (semi detach.) Even drilling downward proved of no use, it's pure concrete. The walls running down the middle of my home are also concrete, as I checked with no opening to run anything to the next floor below.

Consequently I opened those holes near other receptacles.
 
  #5  
Old 07-12-18, 03:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,807
You'll never be able to drill straight enough down a masonry wall. It sounds like your only choice is outside. Possibly using 1/2" EMT. Layout everything that needs to be connected to establish a route.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'