Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page >

avoiding electrical wires above a circuit box

avoiding electrical wires above a circuit box


  #1  
Old 09-08-18, 12:25 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
avoiding electrical wires above a circuit box

We want to put a barn door between the kitchen and the living room. We made a door, solid pine (approximately 84x40, probably about 80 lbs judging by the heft.

We are worried about hitting an electrical wire since we have to attach the barn door at one point above a circuit panel. Any way to avoid doing this? if we use drywall anchors should that be safer? Should we attach a board horizontally to attach the track to?
 
  #2  
Old 09-08-18, 12:32 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Just FYI, this is what it looks like.
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 09-08-18, 01:47 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 81
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
I would only want to fasten the track into a stud. Anchors will not hold the weight over time. If you are hitting a stud on center I would think it would be very unlikely you would hit a wire. A stud finder that detects electrical may give you some piece of mind.
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-18, 06:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,087
Received 3,607 Upvotes on 3,234 Posts
Good info from Tratts.

That panel is mounted directly between two studs. You can count on wires to be going up and down in that stud bay. You can not eliminate wiring being drilled thru either of those two studs. Putting up a board and using screws that penetrated those two studs by no more than 3/4" should be safe.
 
  #5  
Old 09-10-18, 10:56 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks

Thanks for the advice! I actually have a stud finder that's supposed to also detect wires (a zircon pro lcd) but it's kind of flaky and inconsistent so not sure if I can trust it. My wife is not a fan of the board idea but I might have to insist...Though now we're thinking of maybe just getting a handyman to be safe.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: