Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page >

Replaing plaster with drywall: lots of questions

Replaing plaster with drywall: lots of questions


  #1  
Old 10-11-18, 02:11 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Replaing plaster with drywall: lots of questions

Am getting a 1920ís home renovated. Location is Southern California. This is not a DIY post requesting help but one asking for advice on how to proceed and have contractors do the right work for the houseís specific case. Some questions:
Ceiling: It has plaster ceilings. Some of the plaster has broken off from what I assume was previous water damage. It seems rather than replaster, it would just be easier to hang drywall. A contractor said the loose and all existing plaster will be all removed but the lathe will stay and Ĺ drywall can be hanged. I asked why not ľ given weight considerations and his response was the ceiling might look wavy with the thinner drywall. Also, the lathe can stay unless planning to put up insulation (as the house has none). Even if I do not want insulation installed, should the lathe be removed anyway? He said one reason was that it gives the ceiling more strength to let it stay in place. What do you think?


Thanks in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-18, 02:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,410
Received 785 Upvotes on 688 Posts
The only reason I can see to leave the lath would be if the joists are uneven or not on 16" or 24" centers.
Why would you not want insulation??
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-18, 04:38 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26,663
Received 1,810 Upvotes on 1,628 Posts
The lathe should be removed primarily because you will never get 100% of the bits of plaster out from between the lathe. Also insist they remove it because otherwise they will screw the drywall to the lathe and may not necessarily hit the joists... which is asking for trouble.
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-18, 08:43 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Great points made by both of you. I am a layperson and didn't know at all. Any risks to installing drywall in place? Any reason to just have them replastered. I did do the replaster on and outdoor ceiling but it was expensive. Should drywall cost more or less? I'm guessing the demolition of the lathe and plaster will drive the cost up in either case?
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-18, 09:16 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,410
Received 785 Upvotes on 688 Posts
Demolition will drive up the cost but it is something most diyers can do if they want/need to keep the price down.
Plaster is often thought of as being better than drywall. You'd pretty much need to price both repair and replacement to know the costs. Sometimes drywall gets installed over plaster, the main thing is to make sure the screws are long enough to secure the drywall to the ceiling joists.
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-18, 08:25 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,895
Received 42 Upvotes on 35 Posts
If there is some compelling reason to keep the original fabric of the house then it can be plastered. There are some considerations about plaster and nailing the lath or using woven wire reinforcement over the lath or light gauge expanded metal lath. If there is no strong reason to keep plaster then remove the lath. The joists are probably not straight. The plasterer made that happen with plaster so you might need to run some strings and ad shims before installing the drywall. Yes you can blow insulation onto the drywall after it is up, or you can use batts before you put the drywall up.
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-18, 09:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,074
Received 3,601 Upvotes on 3,229 Posts
I'm trying to figure out how insulation is an issue. Normally the first floor ceiling is not insulated. The second floor is usually insulated from the attic. Is there no attic ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: