How to fix this wall?

Old 02-05-21, 04:24 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to fix this wall?

I have a basement hallway wall that suffered water damage many years ago.

I want to patch it up, but am a total beginner so I need some basic advice.

It looks to me like I've got a cement block wall, on top of which they applied a thin layer of either cement or plaster. Then they painted it. Is this right?

The odd thing is that the paint that has chipped off is so thick. As the photos show, it must be like 1/16" thick. Is that just paint, or is there something else going on here I don't understand?

So my guess to fix this --
1- Chip off all old paint
2- Apply new plaster to where it is missing
3- Sand it all down smooth to make a nice flat surface
4- Paint with primer
5- Paint with topcoat

Does this sound right? Thank you for your advice.

Old 02-05-21, 04:59 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
Looks like veneer plaster. You have metal corners that have rusted out and are gone. Basically everything loose needs to be chipped off of the base layer (of either plaster or cement). You might possibly need to remove more metal corner, or at a minimum, prime it to cover up the rust. Cold galvanizing spray would be a good choice. After everything loose is all chipped off, i will usually brush or roll on a heavy coat of Gardz to seal the plaster. That way the mud you put on next will have a better chance of sticking.

I would probably start the repair by slathering on a layer of Durabond 90 as your first coat. Use a wide drywall knife, a couple inches bigger than photo 3 so that you can coat it all at once... (10" or 12"?) . Durabond is a powdered setting compound that you mix with water in a drywall pan... it does not sand easily, so try to lay on a very smooth coat.