New water heater - water dripping on burner!

Old 03-28-05, 07:07 AM
Mat SRT-4
Visiting Guest
New water heater - water dripping on burner!

I purchased and installed a new Richmond 9 year natural gas water heater about 3 days ago. Everything went fine until the next morning and I had no hot water. I found that the pilot was out. I relit it and burner kicked in fine and had hot water all day. Now this morning pilot was out again. This time I relit and sat and watched it for a while. After heating for about 15 mins water started to drip down on the burner!
I didn't have this water heater professionally installed I did it myself, does that void my warrenty? I am a industrial mechanic so i'm pretty handy but this was my first water heater install.
The water heater didn't leak at all after install it only seems to be happening when the burner is on for a while and I haven't noticed any water on the floor after it runs. Just dripping on the burner while running.
I did notice that the cold water inlet pipe was pretty warm about (1' to 1 1/2') coming out of the water heater (thermal expansion?)
The old water heater (31 year old Jet glass) didn't have an expansion tank so I didn't put one on the new heater. Do I need one?

So is this a broken tank?, bad valve? Not to fimiliar with water heater internals. I just hope it's under warranty.

Thanks for any and all help.
Mat Oesterreicher

Sponsored Links
Old 03-28-05, 07:46 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mat SRT-4,
Welcome to the DIY Forums.
Sounds like a crack in the tank. It doesn't open up until heat causes expansion. I don't see why the warranty would be voided. A leak is a leak and you couldn't have caused that.
I would also look at where the nipples go into the tank while it is heating. May be leaking there and running down under the insulation, then on to the burner. Same with where the temp/press relief valve enters the tank. Check these possibilities out before attempting to return the heater. Good luck.