Time to replace Hot Water Heaters

Old 03-07-06, 03:36 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Time to replace Hot Water Heaters

We have two hot water heaters which we want to replace as they are both 22 years old and we feel we should do it now before problems arise. They are Reliance 40gal. gas (Self Cleaning Sta Kleen) units. I am looking for the best energy efficient unit for replacing these, the one we are considering has the following ratings:

Manufacture = Reliance (Got over 20 years out of the original why change brands)
Model = 9-40-YKRT
Natural Gas
40 Gallon
1st. hour rating gallons = 69
Energy Factor =.59
Input per hour = 35,500
Recovery 90% rise = 35

Can someone please explain what these ratings mean as I have no knowledge if these ratings are good or bad, what is better ?. Is there somewhere that I can read up on this type of data for ratings. Is there a manufacture brand rated best overall ?.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-08-06, 10:01 AM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The yellow and black sticker on the side of the tank will give you the energy facts. This sticker is required by the Govt. All the other ratings may be true or false and would be hard to prove when in use. Most WH are now called "quick recovery" which usually means they can reheat about 75% of the used water in one hour. If I was a homeowner looking to buy a unit, I would check the warranties and the language used in them. Some include parts and labor for one year and then pro-rated coverage of the tank for a certain number of years. Problem is, within some of the warranty words there is a clause stating how and when the unit will be covered. Some insist on a factory rep looking at the unit before a warranty will be honored. You never know how long that process could take and you are hot waterless. Others only need a local contractor to do the inspection. Good luck.

Old 03-08-06, 10:46 AM
M
Thank you for the timely response.