No hot water, no central heating - BUT boiler working fine?!

Old 08-14-06, 06:09 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No hot water, no central heating - BUT boiler working fine?!

Hi, I'm a newbie so go easy

I've been on cold showers for the last 2 months as well, so go extra easy!

I've just bought a house. The heating/hot water were fine when I moved in. However, I hired someone to do some work and part of the job was removing a radiator. Ever since, there has been no hot water/central heating.

I've had 4 plumbers over to look at the system, they all suggest replacing the whole system, which would cost over 3000 ($5000) !!!

However, I've been told that the boiler is fine by one of the plumbers.

It's very frustrating, since I really don't think it's a huge issue, however none of the plumbers have given me an exact answer as to what the problem is, they just don't want to get their hands dirty working with an old system, so they walk off telling me to replace it as it would be simpler (obviously they don't realise that not everyone has 3000 lying around!)

Any suggestions greatly appreaciated.

Here's the system (from what I've been able to learn on the subject, hopefully I've understood):

- we have a hot water tank, and a gravity fed system with a cold water tank on the roof
- we don't have a combi boiler, just a standard boiler
- boiler heats water
- this water travels through hot water tank in a coil and induces heat into the water, thus creating hot water in the taps
- the water from the boiler then continues to travel through all the radiators, finally ending back at the boiler
- However, whenever I turn on the boiler, the water pump starts as expected, pushing the water through the central heating system, and hot water can be felt coming out of the pipes in the top of the boiler, however the water tank is cold.

Old 08-17-06, 07:40 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts