trickling pressure relief due to 120lbs in-home?

Old 01-26-08, 10:54 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
trickling pressure relief due to 120lbs in-home?

i'm in serious need of advice:
all of this started with the water heater-it split down the back and started leaking like crazy and had to be replaced. that was done a week or so ago and shortly afterward the thermal relief began to trickle. (forgive me-this is the ball valve that has a tube sticking out of it-i'm an electrician and am not sure what all of the terminology is exactly-expansion valve? thermal relief valve? 125psi thermal expansion relief valve?)

so i replaced the expansion valve. that was not the problem-it kept trickling. so i hooked a guage to a bib and found that the pressure went through the roof after a faucet was closed. somewhere around 120lb. i guessed that the regulator(i've heard it referred to as a prv?) was bad-so i replaced it. i tested for leaks and things were good so i turned it back on. it worked like a champ-i set it at 60 and called it good. it looked good for a while...til i realized the expansion valve was trickling yet again. the bib guage was at 140! i know i set the prv correctly-i adjusted it, turned on a faucet, adjusted it again and it held at 60.

i'm ready to snap.

any input would be great. i'm running out of things i can replace

Old 01-27-08, 04:48 AM
J